STP Conference – Day 1 review

I am currently in San Francisco at the STP Conference (www.stpcon.com).  I am really starting to clearly see what I consider a divide in the testing world between automated and manual testing that I believe is negatively affecting all development methodologies.  I am currently collecting my thoughts on this for an upcoming blog post….stay tuned J

 

Yesterday was the first day of the conference and was a full-day tutorial.  I spent the day at Michael Bolton’s “Rapid Intro to Rapid Software Development” class.  This is usually a 3-day class that was condensed into one day.  Because of that, the class was a lot of lecture and not as much hands-on as I was hoping for.  That said, I have condensed 2 day classes into 4 hour “overviews” so I know the challenges with that.  I think I would really enjoy the 3-day class much more.

 

Overall, I enjoyed the class and picked up some great tips/tricks/ideas particularly around exploratory testing.  I have attended a few talks by James and John Bach in the past and have read many of their articles, etc on exploratory testing.  This workshop really drove home how this technique works and the value it adds.

Some of my key take-aways from this class were:

 

  1. As a tester, you should report what you see, not what you infer.  Basically, the idea here is that we should report just the facts and not infer what the problem is.  By doing this, we are able to keep our credibility with the rest of the team.  If you document an issue and infer what you think the problem is and that isn’t the actual problem, then the developers may start to think of you like the boy that cried wolf.  Just reporting the facts avoids this issue.
  2. Manual tests should discover things – not prove things.  I love this – especially in the Scrum/Agile context.  Agile teams focus heavily on test automation (as they should).  However, manual testing is still important and necessary.  Manual testing allows you to “discover things.”  Test automation is where you prove things – you prove that the new code that was checked in didn’t break the existing code – you prove that the system is still functioning as it was before.  However, your automation doesn’t discover new things.  You discover behaviors, unfriendly user interfaces, patterns, etc by manual testing.  Both are important.
  3. Asking the right question is more important then getting the right answer.  Food for thought.  This ties directly into the 3C’s of User Story development – card, conversation, confirmation.  During your conversation, you should be focused on asking the right questions.  These questions will hopefully illicit those implied assumptions, those “what-if” scenarios no one had thought of.  What you learn in asking those “right questions” can then be documented in the confirmation (the acceptance tests).
  4. Any bug that slows down testing is a bad bug.  The example that brought this to light in the class was what most teams would likely call a usability issue.  The application we were testing had an entry field and a button to click to calculate the answer.  As a user, you could not enter the value and click the enter key on your keyboard to calculate the answer.  You had to either mouse or tab to the button on the UI first to click it.  This wasn’t necessarily a “bug.”  I am sure developers, testers, and product folks could argue for hours as to whether or not it was a “bug” or a usability issue.  It would like get ranked a low priority since the system essentially worked.  However, this functionality really slowed down testing.  If we could have just entered data and clicked enter, we could have tested more cases quickly.  Having to tab or mouse for every test slowed down my rate of testing.  Testability of the application you are working on should be considered.  This is why I like the concepts of ATDD and TDD.  If the tests are defined before development starts, then the developers can build the system in such a way that lends itself to easy testing.  As testers, it is absolutely our right to ask for testable applications.

 

More stpcon reviews to come as the conference continues……

One Response

  1. “I am really starting to clearly see what I consider a divide in the testing world between automated and manual testing that I believe is negatively affecting all development methodologies. I am currently collecting my thoughts on this for an upcoming blog post….stay tuned J”

    I’m all ears…

Leave a Reply

