TISQA 2007 Conference Review

I spent the day yesterday at the TISQA conference in Chapel Hill, NC.  It is a one day local conference that the TISQA group puts on every year. 

The opening key note was from Jon Bach.  As usual, it was a great talk.  I love listening to him talk about exploratory testing.  I always learn something new.  The afternoon keynote was a talk by Rex Black called “Testing in an Outsourced World.”  As usual, Rex was an awesome presenter.  While I disagree with some of his views on managing outsourced testing, I got some great ideas from him around how to manage cultural differences in that situation. 

I only got to listen to one other presenter (TR Buskirk) since I was presenting in the afternoon.  It was a fun talk that highlighted some of the challenges that QA groups face in all companies.

This was the first testing only conference I have been to in several years.  It was an eye-opener for me.  The conference was run extremely well as usual and the TISQA group did a great job scheduling, etc.  The main thing that stuck out for me was the atmosphere difference from this conference to others I have attended in the last few years.  My personal opinion is that the atmosphere was different because it was a group of testers, not a mix of developers, testers, product folks, etc.  It definitely didn’t feel like an “agile-friendly” environment.  That said, it was still a good experience and I hope that at the end of the day, at least one person there may think about approaching testing differently.

Leave a Reply

